Once you've published your Community Hub, customized your main Join Us form, and created opportunities for your volunteers, you're ready to recruit and invite volunteers!

How volunteers interact with your organization through Timecounts will depend on how you're recruiting or inviting volunteers. For example, you could be importing existing volunteers then sending invitations, or gathering signups through a general application, an event signup, or a variety of assignments. However you invite or recruit volunteers, the basic flow and volunteer experience remains the same.

This article lists the different touchpoints volunteers experience using Timecounts.

Community Hub

Your Community Hub is where people can learn about your volunteer program, join your volunteer community, signup for specific opportunities, and log-in to manage activities. 

Once you've published your Hub, you can link to it from your website. Some customers choose to add a button, or have the 'Volunteer' link in their website's navigation go straight to their Timecounts Hub.

If you have a group of current volunteers that you would like to notify about your new Community Hub, you will need to import them in a spreadsheet, then send an 'Invite to Hub' from the Community tab.

New people will see the full main page of your Hub when they visit it:

New people can click the 'Join Us' button to fill out your general signup form, or click 'See Opportunities' to signup for a specific event or assignment.

There's no need for volunteers to create an account or login before signing up. 

Email Verification

Once they've submitting a form, new volunteers will be directed to a page asking them to verify their email. Logged in volunteers will go straight to the Thank You page.

Volunteer Account Creation

When the volunteer clicks the button to verify their email, they're redirected to a confirmation page with a custom 'Thank You' message. Underneath the Thank You message, volunteers are given the option to create a Timecounts account by entering a password or signing in through Facebook. At this point, volunteers can exit the screen if they'd like, and continue to signup for other opportunities as above. Volunteers do not need to create accounts. But if they do decide to create one, they'll enter a password and be redirected to a logged-in view of your Opportunities page.

Volunteer Profile Settings

 The volunteer navigation has two icons - one for My Communities, and one for Profile Settings. The Profile Settings tab is where volunteers can update their basic contact information, password, photo, availability, and email. 

My Organizations

When volunteers are logged in, they can click on the 'My Organizations' icon in their navigation to access the page. One personal Timecounts account can be linked to many different organizations. Volunteers will see your organization in their Communities list only once you've approved them and added them to your Community Directory. They will also see other organizations here if they've used their Timecounts account to volunteer with more than one organization. 

Each organization listed in the My Organizations tab has a link to open the Hub for that organization. Admins of organizations will see an additional button here for each organization that they're attached to, to go to the Dashboard.

My Activities

When a logged-in volunteer clicks to open your Community Hub from the Communities page, they will jump right to the new My Activities tab of your hub. This tab displays all of the volunteer's upcoming commitments, as well as a count of activities they've participated in, and all hours they've been credited for. Volunteers can click on any shift or event to see the location in a map, or cancel the commitment. 

Along the left side are a list of that volunteer's assignments. Clicking on an assignment will show all of that volunteer's upcoming shifts for the assignment. To signup for new shifts, the volunteer needs to click 'Available Shifts' in the assignment tab.

The only other difference in the Hub for logged-in volunteers is the main Community Hub page. When a volunteer is logged-in, the top section of the Hub with the banner image and 'Join Us' button doesn't display. Instead, they will see the mission at the top of the page, along with the Hub navigation bar.

Did this answer your question?