When you create events or assignments in Timecounts, you're given the choice between 'automatically accept applications' or 'let me review all applications'.

Let Me Review All Applications

This option is manual review. Everyone who applies will be 'pending' until you review their application and choose to accept them. Choose this option if you want to read over each application before approving them, or if the application process is competitive.

Automatically Accept Applications

Choose this option if your opportunity is open to anyone who is interested. Note that Timecounts will automatically accept only all verified applications. An application is verified if the applicant clicks the verification link in the email they receive from Timecounts shortly after signing up. All applications submitted by logged-in volunteers with Timecounts accounts are also verified.

If you select Automatically Accept applications, you may still find a notification in Pending Applications that you have unverified submissions. You will need to manually review and verify these submissions in order to process them.

Auto-Accept with Auto-Confirm Shifts

The second option you're given when setting up an event or assignment schedule is whether you'd like to auto-confirm shifts or manually confirm shifts on your own. If you set your event to auto-accept applications and auto-confirm shifts, verified volunteers who signup will be immediately confirmed for all available shifts that they've selected. All shifts will appear in the schedule as blue 'Confirmed' shifts. But before your event, make sure you've notified or reminded all of your volunteers of their confirmed shifts!

Auto-Accept with 'Let Me Confirm Shifts'

If your event is set to auto-accept applications with manual shift confirmation, then volunteers will not be automatically confirmed for shifts when they signup. Instead, as soon as a verified volunteer selects shifts, those shifts will appear in your schedule as green 'Requested' shifts. You'll need to open your schedule to decide who to confirm for those shifts, and notify BOTH confirmed people and those who are not needed, to avoid any confusion.

Note that shifts will not display to volunteers as full until you have confirmed the maximum number of people for those shifts. Because shifts are not auto-confirmed, you may end up with many more 'Requested' shifts from volunteers than you have slots for each shift.

Did this answer your question?